Book Review: The Girl who Walked on Air by Emma Carroll

Hello, my fair readers! Understand that this post is a day late for… no good reason. Anyway, today I will be doing the promised Tuesday post, meaning a book review.

I will be delving into the world of Louie, the girl who aspires to be a tightrope walker and showstopper. No spoilers! Hopefully. 🙂

Anyway…

 

Final Rating: 4.75

 

Image result for the girl who walked on air

‘Showstopper’, but Mr Chipchase keeps her hidden, tucked away in the ticket booth. No Death-Defying Stunts for her. But Louie has been secretly practising her act; the tightrope and dreams of being the Girl Who Walked on Air – she just needs to be given the chance to shine.
And the circus needs her too – Wellbeloved’s rival show is stealing their crowds. They need a Showstopper. Desperate, Mr Chipchase reluctantly lets Louie perform. She is a sensation, and gets an offer from the sinister Mr Wellbeloved himself to perform . . . over Niagara Falls. But nothing is quite as it seems and soon Louie’s bravery is tested not just on the highwire but in confronting her past and the shady characters in the world of the circus . . .

Genre: Historical fiction/mystery

Plot: 4.5

It was quite easy to follow, and I loved most of it! However, I feel that it got a bit clumsy about Gabriel. No spoilers intended!

Characters: 4.5

Though the main character seemed well developed and had an interesting voice, all the other characters seemed to just slot into their role rather than just being alive. And the antagonist didn’t seem very fleshed out.

Settings: 5!

The settings were amazing! Niagara Falls seemed so well researched, and even though the writer admitted that she has never been there, she made it feel like she really had! And the circus, what can I even say? It seemed so amazing, and I loved the do-gooders, and how they made everything so much more infuriating and difficult.

Plot Twist: 5!

It’s really shocking, and I love how everything intertwines. Prepare for everything you know to be proven wrong!

Climax: 4.5

Though the first time I read it I found it thrilling and amazing, re-reading it made it feel dull and like it was a big-build up for nothing. When Carroll’s agent said ‘More drama!’ I imagine she was right on many counts. The antagonist should not have survived the scene. >:D

Character Relationships: 5!

I know I’ve alreasdy covered characters, but this deserves a space of its own. Well, wjhat to say? I loved Louie’s unique voice and perspective on the world. She seemed a bit like me in some ways, so I could relate to her easily. Gabriel seemed a bit off a mid-drift character, but once you got to know him, he had his reasons and his perspective. Similar to Mr Wellbeloved.

In short, this is an amazing book and definitely worth the read. Especially if you’re like me and love the circus. I totally haven’t got a trapeze and a high-wire…

Anyway, bye! See you on Friday.

-Kat xx

Leave a Reply

